The Aerospace Engineering School Advisory Council (AESAC)

From the AESAC Chair

As an alumnus of the Daniel Guggenheim School of Aerospace Engineering, I take great pride in the innovation that is the hallmark of this institution. It has created great opportunities for me in my career. As the chair of the School’s Advisory Council, I am committed to building upon that legacy for the next generation of aerospace engineers.

The rigor of our program today will be the foundation of tomorrow’s leaders.

My colleagues on the Advisory Council share that commitment and something more: we are all constantly scanning our horizons - in business, government, academia, and beyond - to find the next big challenge -- real-world engineering problems worthy of the talent that AE students bring to their endeavors.

I invite you to support our quest,

John E. Laughter
BSAE ‘93

Industry, military, academic, and government leaders are recruited to serve on the AESAC. Members meet once a year to discuss the School's progress and define its goals for the coming year. The following are the 2019 members of AESAC:

C. Anne Patterson
AE ’71, ‘75
Women’s Telehealth
Ron Bessire
Vice President, Engineering and Technical Operations
Lockheed Martin Corporation
Robert A. Cowart
AE '90, '91
Staff Scientist, Preliminary Design
Gulfstream Aerospace Corporation
Marcus J. Dash
AE '66, '68
Goldman, Sachs & Co.
John W. Elbon
AE '82
Vice President & General Manager, Space Exploration
The Boeing Company
Philip A. Fawcett
AE '89, '92
Principal Director, Advanced Research and Engineering
The Aerospace Corporation
Eric Gebhardt
AE '90
VP Strategic Technology Officer
GE Power
Lara O'Connor Hodgson
AE '93
President and CEO
NOWaccount Network Corporation
Ram Janakiram
AE '76
Manager, Flight Technology
The Boeing Company
R. Steven Justice
AE '80
Executive Director, Centers of Innovation
Georgia Department of Economic Development
Nicholas D. Lappos
AE '73
Senior Technical Fellow
Sikorsky Aircraft Corporation
John E. Laughter (Chair)
AE '93
Senior Vice President, Maintenance Operations
Delta Air Lines, Inc.
Andrew Lewis
AE '76
Decision IQ
Leslie Livesay
Director, Engineering and Science Directorate
Jet Propulsion Laboratory, California Institute of Technology
Robert G. Loewy
Professor Emeritus, Daniel Guggenheim School of Aerospace Engineering
Georgia Institute of Technology
Sandra H. Magnus (Emeritus)
MSE '96
AIAA Executive Director, retired
Jaime Peraire
Former Department Head & H.N. Slater Professor of Aeronautics & Astronautics
Massachusetts Institute of Technology
Thomas W. Prete
Vice President, Engineering
Pratt & Whitney
Dierk M. Reuter
MSAE '87, Ph.D. '88
Founding Director
Lucid Markets Ltd. (retired)
Alton Romig
Executive Officer
The National Academy of Engineering
Larry Schneider
AE '85
VP/Chief Program Engineer
Boeing Company - NMA Program
Christopher E. Singer
Agency Deputy Chief Engineer (retired)
NASA Marshall Space Flight Center
Rafael Spears
Director of Commercial Systems
The Aerospace Corporation
Joseph Daniel Stewart
AE '64, '65, '67
Associate Vice President for Research
University of Tennessee
Robert Stoker
AE '89, '90, '96
Senior Manager Product Development, Collaboration, Commercial Airlines
The Boeing Company
Clayton P. Tino
AE ’07, ’12, ‘13
Director, Core Services Engineering
Virtustream, Inc.
Gary W. Weissel
AE '93
Managing Officer
Tronosjet Aviation Consulting, Inc.
Mark S. Whorton
Ph.D.AE '97
Executive Director
The University of Tennessee Space Institute
Stephanie Wojcik
AE '03
Engineering Operations Integrated Defense Systems
The Boeing Company
John J. Young, Jr. (Chair Emeritus)
AE '85
Undersecretary of Defense for Acquisition, Logistics and Technology
Department of Defense